February 12, 2016 in Meadowbank, Magherafelt

Aquinas Belfast 2-7 Lumen Christi Derry 1-9

A point in second minute of injury time from Eoin Nagle won the Danske Bank Nolan Cup last evening at Meadowbank Magherafelt in a pulsating final that swung in favour of one side then the other over the 60 minutes.

Although Lumen Christi recovered from them early in the second half, the two goals from Phelim Lennon during the opening half were the decisive scores.

Those goals, both set up by Ronan Quinn, put Lumen Christi on the back foot and they were playing catch up for 40 minutes.

The goals gave Aquinas the belief that they could beat the favourites and, with James Woods and Brogan Austin in top form at the back and Michael Brown, Eoin Nagle and Lennon causing problems up front, Lumen had their hands full.

Lumen trailed by 2-1 to 0-4 at the break, but helped by a 37th minute goal from Sean Kelly they edged ahead and led by three points at the three-quarter stage with Eoghan Bradley and Ben McCarron a constant threat.

Aquinas however showed great character to come back during the final quarter and a series of points from Nagle culminated in a tense finish with the corner-forward firing over the winner in injury time.

Aquinas : C Leggett, J Woods, D Magorrian, M McGeogh, B McCarthy, B Austin, F Quinn, B McMeekin, C Kelly, A Harney, M Brown 0-1, P Lennon 2-0, L Fahy, R Quinn, E Nagle 0-5 (3f)

Subs: C McHugh for C Kelly, E McMenamin 0-1 for L Fahy.
1   Conor Leggit              an Bhréadach
2  James Woods             Ceathrú Aodha Dhuibh
3  Daire Magorrian        Ceathrú Aodha Dhuibh
4  Matthew McGeough  an Bhréadach
5  Brian McCarthey        Naomh Bríd
6  Brogan Austin             Naomh Bríd
7  Fintan Quinn               an Bhréadach
8  Chris Kelly                   Naomh Treasa
9  Ben McMeekan           Naomh Treasa
10  Andy Harney             Sabhall Phádraig
11  Michael Brown          an Bhréadach
12  Phelim Lennon         Naomh Bríd
13  Lorcan Fahy              an Bhréadach
14  Ronan Quinn            an Bhréadach
15  Eoin Nagle                 Naomh Éanna
16  Jack McAufield         Naomh Pól
17  Conall McHugh         an Bhréadach
18  Paddy McAlister       Naomh Seosamh
19  Gareth Mullen          Naomh Gall
20  Eoghan McMeninman      Ó Donnabh
21  Brendan Gallen         an Bhréadach
22  Rory Cormickan       Naomh Bríd
23  Emmett Curran        an Bhréadach
24  Cormac Kennedy      Naomh Pádraig
25  Tim Cunningham      an Bhréadach
John McAteer
Chris Savage
Paul Evans
Barry Niblock
Michael Dempsey