Aquinas beat Lismore in the Uster Colleges Bro JM Murphy on Saturday 1st June at Boucher Road, winning 4-3 to 1-2 in the final against Armagh team Lismore comprehehsive. Lismore had beaten Aquinas earlier in the preliminary rounds, however Aquinas produced a brilliant display in the final to deservedly win. Niall McFarland, Pearse O’Neill and Owen McMahon were exceptional up front for Aquinas. Conor Mulholland and Conor O’Keefe formed a very strong mid field partnership and Dara Curran and Eoin Mitchell were very tight in defence. Aquinas scorers were Niall McFarland (1.0), Owen McMahon (1.0), Pearse O’Neill (1.1) and Conor O’Keefe (1.2)

Aquinas had beaten St Patrick’s Bearnageeha, St Colm’s Twinbrook and St Killian’s Garrontower earlier in the week in a warm up tournament.  On the day of the UlsterCollege’s tournament they beat EdmundRiceCollege, St Patrick’s Lisburn and St Killian’s Garrontower, before losing to Lismore in the group stages.  This has been an outstanding May and June for these year 8 Gaelic footballers.

The Aquinas Squad:
Dylan Kerrigan
Lucas Mallon
Eoin Mitchell
Jamie Curran
Niall NcAreavey
Dara Curran
Tiarnan Quinn
Conor Mulholland
Conor O’Keefe
Owen McMahon
Pearse O’Neill
Evin Maguire
Eoin McKernan
Christian Onella
Niall McFarland
Lochlainn Quinn
Sean Lagan
James O’Rourke
Eoghan Teggart
Luke Quinn

This is the 3rd time Aquinas has won the Year 8 C Competition in their 20 year history involved with Ulster Colleges.